The Hottest New Asian Talents Unveiled As The Asian Stars Up Next Awardees - IFFAM - 4th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

The Hottest New Asian Talents Unveiled As The Asian Stars Up Next Awardees

The Hottest New Asian Talents Unveiled As The Asian Stars Up Next Awardees

Asian Stars Up Next Award Recipients Include Asmara Abigail, Bea Alonzo, Bhumi Pednekar, Jennis Oprasert, Liên Binh Plát, Lim Yoon A, Praewa Suthamphon & Ryota Katayose.

28 November 2019

The International Film Festival & Awards Macao (IFFAM) has again teamed up with Variety for the Asian Stars Up Next Awards. Highlighting the hottest upcoming Asian acting talent, this year’s winners will be presented with their awards during the IFFAM Closing Ceremony on December 10th.

“We are extremely pleased to welcome some of the brightest upcoming talents from Asia to be presented on the international stage at IFFAM. Asia is one of the most important film markets with many exciting new talents. We are proud to offer this platform from which to share our admiration and enthusiasm for this amazing collection of Asian Star Up Next 2019 and showcase them internationally,” said Lorna Tee, Head of Festival Management for IFFAM.

Patrick Frater, Asian editor of Variety added “Three years ago, the IFFAM and Variety had the idea to use their respective strengths, as a festival showcase and as a global media organization, to do something that promotes and develops the film industry in Asia. And to help carry the cream of the Asian industry to foreign shores. The Asian Star Up Next Awards then do not seek to discover the very newest actors. Rather they aim to acknowledge performers who may well be on an upwards trajectory at home, but have not yet become household names across the whole planet. The Awards aim to play their modest part in giving those emerging talents their deserved moment in the international spotlight. The Awards recipients of the first two editions have well encapsulated that thinking – proven, but still developing, talents who have the skill and inclination to go further. And we are confident that this year’s laureates will in time prove worthy winners.”

Below are the list of awardees this year followed by their profiles

Asmara Abigail (Indonesia)


Bea Alonzo (Philippines)


Bumi Pednekar (India)


Jennis Opraset (Thailand)


Praewa Suthampon (Thailand)


Liên Binh Phát (Vietnam)


Lim Yoona (Korea)


Ryota Katayose (Japan)


Indonesian actress Asmara Abigail made her debut in Garin Nugroho’s Setan Jawa, followed by roles in One Two Jaga by Nam Ron and Joko Anwar’s horror blockbuster Satan’s Slave. She has also appeared in Hanung Bramantyo’s Once Upon a Time in Java, William Chandra’s Salvation, Bene Dion’s Ghost Writer, Joko Anwar’s Gundala and Yosep Anggi Noen’s The Science of Fictions which screened in competition at the Locarno Film Festival, receiving a special mention. She also stars in Adrianto Dewo’s Homecoming, which screens in competition here in Macao on December 9.

Filipina actress and performer Bea Alonzo is one of the premier artists of ABS-CBN, the biggest television network in the Philippines. Since her debut in 2002, she has starred in over 20 films including Cathy Garcia-Molina’s Four Sisters and a Wedding, Nuel C. Naval’s The Love Affair, Mikhail Red’s Eerie and Unbreakable by Mae Czarina Cruz.

In demand actress Bhumi Pednekar (India) has had an extremely busy 2019 with roles in Abhiske Chaubey’s Sonchrirya, Alankrita Shrivastava’s Dolly Kitty and Those Twinkling Stars, Tushar Hiranandani’s Saand Ki Aankh, Amir Kaushik’s Bala and Pati Patni Aur Woh directed by Mudassar Aziz. Her breakthrough came in her 2015 debut film Dum Laga Ke Haisha by Sharat Katariya.

Actress and performer Jennis Oprasert is a member of BNK48, one of the most famous girl groups in Thailand. She has acted from a young age, appearing in Chadchai Yoodsaranee’s The 8th Day and Where We Belong by Kongdej Juturanrasmee. She also appeared as herself in the BNK48 documentary Girls Don’t Cry, directed by Nawapol Thamrongrattanarit.

Fellow BNK48 member, Praewa Suthamphon also appeared as herself in the BNK48 documentary Girls Don’t Cry, directed by Nawapol Thamrongrattanarit. She has made her feature film debut this year in Kongdej Jaturanrasmee’s Where We Belong.  

Rising star Liên Binh Phát was the first Vietnamese actor to win the Gemstone Award at the Toyko International Film festival for his role as Dung in Leon Le’s Song Lang. He has since starred in Huynh Tuan Anh’s Butterfly HouseQuy co thua ke by Nguyen Hoang Duy and Cao Trung Hieu’s Truyên Ngan.

Lim Yoona is a member of K-Pop group Girls’ Generation and subgroup Oh!GG. She has most recently been seen in Seong-hoon Kim’s Confidential Assignment and Exit directed by Lee Sang Geun for which she won the Face of Asia award at the Marie Claire Asia Star Awards. Yoona was also a 2018 IFFAM talent ambassador.

Ryota Katayose, of Japanese pop group Generations from Exile Tribe, is rapidly gaining popularity as an actor. Following his appearance in My Brother Loves Me Too Much, Katayose has starred in TV dramas Prince of Legend and Mr Hiragi’s Homeroom and Takehiko Shinjo’s Come Kiss Me at 0:00AM.  

Previous Asian Star Up Next awardees include Celina Jade, Ludi Li, Piolo Pascual, Rajkummar Rao, Shioli Kutsuna, Chutimon Cheungcharoensukying, Ahn Seo-Hyeon from 2017, and Anne Curtis, Iqbaal Ramadhan, Zaira Wasim, Xana Tang and Ryan Zheng Kai from 2018.

For more information, please visit the official website: