The 5th International Film Festival & Awards • Macao Winners Result - IFFAM - 5th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

The 5th International Film Festival & Awards • Macao Winners Result

The 5th International Film Festival & Awards • Macao

Limbo wins the international competition section

Macao: Tuesday 8th December

The Awards Ceremony of the 5th International Film Festival & Awards.Macao (IFFAM) took place tonight online, during which Ben Sharrock’s Limbo picked up Best Film and Hirokazu Kore-eda was honoured for his outstanding achievements in film with the festival’s ‘Spirit of Cinema’ award. The film festival digitally screened 31 spectacular feature films this year, including 11 in the International Competition section.

This year’s International Competition focusing on films from first and second-time film-makers, were: Back To The Wharf, by Li Xiaofeng (Mainland China); Black Light, by Bae Jongdae (Korea); The Cloud in Her Room, by Zheng Lu Xinyuan (Hong Kong SAR, Mainland China); Falling, by Viggo Mortensen (US/Canada/Denmark); Limbo, by Ben Sharrock (UK); Love Poem, by William Wong (Hong Kong SAR); Servants, by Ivan Ostrochovský (Czech Republic); Shorta, by Frederik Louis Hviid and Anders Ølholm (Denmark); Spring Blossom, by Suzanne Lindon (France); Sweat, by Magnus von Horn (Poland); and Tragic Jungle, by Yulene Olaizola (Mexico).

Best Film: Limbo, directed by Ben Sharrock

Best Director: Suzanne Lindon, Spring Blossom

Best Actor Lance Henriksen, Falling

Best Actress: Magdalena Koleśnik, Sweat

Best Screenplay: Ben Sharrock, Limbo

Best Short Film: Under directed by Jiao Yue

The international competition jury, who awarded the best film trophy and US$60,000 prize to Limbo, were:

Ning Hao – Director, Producer, Screenwriter (Mainland China) (Jury President)
Mattie Do – Director, Producer (Laos)
Nina Hoss – Actress (Germany)
Eric Khoo – Director, Producer, Screenwriter (Singapore)
Albert Lee – Executive director of Hong Kong International Film Festival, producer (Hong Kong SAR)

In his speech presenting the best film award, Director Ning said: “I am very happy and honoured to present the award to Limbo. The jury unanimously agreed that it was a thought-provoking piece of work, because of its in-depth exploration of society and also the relationship between culture and humanity. Combined with the director’s unique film language and a modern artistic style, it magically blends together and gives the audience unforgettable pleasure and enjoyment of all senses.”

The short film jury comprised producer Fu Jia, producer and festival programmer Mathilde Henrot and film-maker Johnny Ma.  Of Jiao Yue’s Under, Henrot said in the presentation speech: “Among the brilliant films in the selection, we felt this one gathered the many qualities of a promising director engaging with his audience. With this award, we hope to encourage both the director and the film’s great actors to continue their work. We will be very eager to discover the director’s next film.”

The Spirit Of Cinema award goes to a visionary director who has made a significant contribution to the art of film. Japanese master Hirokazu Koreeda also gave an interview looking back on his early career to artistic director Mike Goodridge, which can be found on the IFFAM platform.

Koreeda said in his acceptance speech: “I am very honoured to accept the Spirit Of Cinema award. Thank you everyone for your support. It is 25 years since I became a film director. Recently there have been many chances to receive these kinds of awards. Besides being ectstatic, I feel that my hard work has finally paid off. In the days to come, I hope to continue to create and produce more movies, and continue the spirit of creativity and hard work.”

The 5th International Film Festival & Awards.Macao was held from the 3rd to the 8th December 2020.

Mike Goodridge, artistic director, said: “It was a daunting challenge for the whole IFFAM team to take the festival online, but we are happy with the results and have received great feedback from the people of Macao and Hong Kong who have been enjoying the programme. Many thanks to Alvin Chau, Gina Lei and her team for their unwavering support. We hope that we can return to the cinemas next year for the sixth IFFAM.”

For more information, please visit the official website:

Press contacts:

For all international press enquiries please contact the Premier team at:

+44 20 7292 8330

Notes to editors:

International Programming Team

In addition to Artistic Director Mike Goodridge, the team of International Consultants in charge of film selection include Giovanna Fulvi for Asia; Violeta Bava for Latin America, Spain and Portugal; Fionnuala Halligan for Europe, Russia, Israel and Australia/New Zealand and Hiromi Aihara for Japan.

Recent Posts