影展大使 - IFFAM - 4th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

Karan Johar

Karan Johar (印度)

被譽為當今印度最才華洋溢的創作者之一,Karan Johar不僅成功導演多部賣座電影、執掌知名製作公司達摩影業,亦是傑出的演員、作家、服裝設計師、DJ,以及熱門電視節目《卡蘭咖啡時光》的主持明星。

1972年誕生於電影世家,其父Yash Johar即是達摩影業的創辦人。Karan Johar年方二五便執導轟動一時的浪漫愛情喜劇《愛情的證明》(1998),2001年的票房鉅作《親情大過天》更奠定他在印度商業影壇的名導地位。其後,在寶萊塢一線巨星助陣之下,Karan Johar陸續以《永不說再見》(2006)、《阿漢正傳》(2010)、《年度最佳學生》(2012) 和《心碎的感覺》(2016)稱霸票房市場。

在導演事業之餘,Karan Johar於2004年繼承其父遺志,接手運營製片公司後,致力提攜新銳後進導演更上層樓,數年來共計推出三十多部電影作品,躍居印度製片產業的領頭羊。

作為印度文藝界的指標名宿,Karan Johar主持的電視節目是印度最受歡迎的英語節目,也令他在《綜藝》雜誌評選的娛樂圈五百大影響力名單據有一席之地。他曾在倫敦政治經濟學院和哈佛大學發表演說、以文化領袖身份出席世界經濟論壇,亦曾帶領國家代表團參與2018年柏林影展。此外,他更是個積極的人道主義者,合作的數個非營利組織在抗癌、失能兒童及新生兒照護方面皆多有著力。

金容華(韓國)

身為南韓數一數二的成功影人,金容華不僅屢破票房紀錄,亦同時受到觀眾與影評人的肯定。他編劇並執導的六部作品皆在南韓和亞洲各地獲得極度亮眼的票房。其電影常以克服逆境的曲折故事為主軸,不僅饒富趣味及娛樂特質,更擅以先進華麗的視覺特效為作品錦上添花。

金容華的代表作包括《憨豆兄弟》(2003)、《醜女大翻身》(2006)、《超級巨猩》(2013)、《與神同行》(2017),以及《與神同行:終極審判》(2018) 等,其中《與神同行》更榮登南韓影史票房亞軍,並在亞洲多國超越《屍殺列車》成為最賣座的南韓電影。

此外,金容華亦身兼頂尖視覺效果公司Dexter Studios的創辦人,《智取虎威山》、《西遊記》、《功夫瑜伽》和《與神同行》系列等亞洲鉅片的精彩特效皆出自該公司手筆。他近期正致力《與神同行》第三、第四集的拍攝,並同步與南韓新世代影人密切合作,運營高達兩千萬的預算,監製以南北兩韓攜手力抗火山浩劫為題的災難電影《長白山》。

金容華

王小帥

王小帥(中國)

在商業主義大行其道的中國電影市場,王小帥忠於自我的電影美學始終如一。再現中國平凡人物身處不凡時代的心理處境,他的作品橫跨數個世代,持續反映出強烈的社會意識。

生於1966年,王小帥畢業於北京電影學院。27歲時,作為中國第六代導演的指標性人物,首部作品《冬春的日子》(1993) 即獲BBC選為電影誕生百周年百部佳片之一。隨後又陸續執導《極度寒冷》(1995),以及於康城影展一種注目單元首映的《扁擔·姑娘》(1998)。王小帥早期電影對迷亂社會變遷中萎靡青年的直白呈現,獲得國際影評的高度讚譽,卻未曾於其祖國正式展映。2001年作品《十七歲的單車》鮮活描繪在物質主義新社會中妥協求存的底層中國少年,更獲柏林影展評審團大獎銀熊獎至高肯定。

王小帥的電影曾四度叩關康城影展、三度角逐柏林影展金熊榮耀,亦曾參與威尼斯影展和聖塞巴斯蒂安影展。極高的藝術成就使他獲獎無數,中期代表作品包括2005年獲康城影展評審團獎的《青紅》,2008年獲柏林影展最佳劇本銀熊獎的《左右》。近作則有獲選競逐第71屆威尼斯影展金獅獎的《闖入者》(2014),以及擒得第69屆柏林影展最佳男女主演兩座銀熊獎的最新作品《地久天長》,兩部作品皆深刻體現了歷史對當代的悠遠影響。

Ambassadors - IFFAM - 5th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

Karan Johar

Karan Johar (India)

Karan Johar is one of India’s most successful and versatile film artists. He is director of blockbuster hit movies, head of hit-making production company Dharma Productions, actor, author, costume designer, DJ and huge celebrity as host of TV talk show Koffee With Karan.

Born in 1972 into a film-making family – his father, the late Yash Johar, was the founder of Dharma Productions, Johar made his directorial debut at the age of 25 with trendsetting love story Kuch Kuch Hota Hai followed in 2001 by the megabit Kabhi Khushi Kabhie Ghamwhich shot him to the top ranks of commercial cinema directors in India. Working with the biggest stars in Bollywood, Johar continued to dominate the box office with Kabhi Alvida Naan’s Kehna (2006), My Name Is Khan (2010), Student Of The Year (2012) and Ae Dil Hai Mushkil (2016).

At the same time as his directing career, Johar took over his family company after his father’s death in 2004 and has produced over 30 films, often giving opportunities to young and upcoming directors and helping them to the next level. Dharma is now one of the leading production outfits in the country.

His talk show is the most watched English language talk show on Indian television, cementing his status as a key cultural figure and securing him a spot on Variety’s list of 500 Most Influential People In Entertainment. He has spoken at the London School Of Economics and Harvard University, attended the World Economic Forum as a cultural leader and led the Indian delegation to the Berlin Film Festival in 2018. He is also a keen humanitarian and works with non-profit organizations working around cancer, children with disability and neo-natal care.

Kim Yong-Hwa (Korea)

Kim Yong-hwa is one of South Korea’s most successful filmmakers having broken box office records and gained popularity with audiences and critics alike. He has written and directed six feature films and all of them have been big box office success in South Korea and across Asia. His films tell intricate stories of overcoming adversity but in a playful and entertaining manner with sumptuous and cutting-edge VFX to enhance the storytelling.

His filmography includes “Oh! Brothers” (2003), “200 Pounds Beauty” (2006), “Take Off” (2009), “Mr. Go” (2013), “Along with the Gods: The Two Worlds” (2017), and “Along with the Gods: The Last 49 Days” (2018). With “Along with the Gods: The Two Worlds”, Kim has achieved the number two of all-time box office record in South Korea and taken the top spot from “Train to Busan” as the top-grossing South Korean film in many parts of Asia.

Kim is also the Founder of an acclaimed VFX company, Dexter Studios and the company has worked on the big Asian films such as “The Taking of Tiger Mountain”, “The Monkey King”, “Kung Fu Yoga” and “Along with the Gods” franchise. He is currently working on his next feature films “Along with the Gods: Part 3, 4” and Executive Producing “Mount Paektu”, a $20 million budget disaster film about the two Koreas struggling to prevent a volcanic eruption of Mount Paektu, working closely with the next generation of filmmakers.

Kim Yong-Hwa

Wang Xiaoshuai

Wang Xiaoshuai (Mainland China)

Wang Xiaoshuai is one of very few masters who remains true to his art in spite of rampant commercialism in the Chinese film market. Evoking the trauma of ordinary Chinese people caught in extraordinary times, his works span different eras, yet consistently reflect a strong social conscience.

Born in 1966, he was a graduate of Beijing Film Academy. At 27, he emerged as one of the key Sixth Generation directors with his debut feature The Days (1993) which was selected as one of the best 100 films of all time by the BBC in 1995. He followed up with Frozen (1995) and So Close to Paradise (1998), the latter premiering in Un Certain Regard in Cannes. Wang’s gritty depiction of listless youth in a time of bewildering social changes earned him international critical acclaim, but none of his early films could be officially released at home. Beijing Bicycle (2001) won the Grand Jury prize at the Berlinale, for its stunningly fresh portrait of Chinese teenagers negotiating the class gap in a new age of materialism.

Wang’s films have been selected for competition in Cannes four times, three times in the Berlinale, and also at Venice and San Sebastian. For his artistic accomplishments, he has received many distinguished honours, notably the Jury Prize in Cannes competition for Shanghai Dreams (2005) and the Berlinale Silver Bear for Best Screenplay for In Love We Trust (2008). His recent work Red Amnesia (2014) was selected in competition at the 71st Venice International Film Festival, and the latest title So Long, My Son (2019) won two Silver Bears for the Best Actor and Actress at the 69th Berlin International Film Festival. Both examine the far-reaching consequences of the past on the present.