幻觉围 - IFFAM - 4th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

幻觉围
澳门特别行政区 | 2019 | 90’ | DCP | 彩色 | 广东话 | 组别: B
导演: Shangshi Chen

放映時間
2019/12/08 16:30 澳门旅游塔

策展人笔记

《幻觉围》细腻描写澳门近十年来的社会变迁,且关注受其影响的人民生活,可说是导演对这座都市珍贵的文化遗产所献上的一封情书。电影透过一对年轻情侣的视角,看着澳门从过去葡萄牙殖民地,摇身成为今日赌博娱乐龙头的重大转变,片中两位青梅竹马所历经的人生波折,更刻画出整个澳门社会的美好理想。精通各种艺术形式的陈尚实导演,在这部片叙事正向且真诚,更凸显出澳门传统建筑美学与逐渐失传的重要文化,将这座城市的内在美、外在美一并呈现在世人眼前。该片绝对是澳门回归周年的必看佳作。

– Giovanna Fulvi

故事大纲

1999年澳门回归中国,一对年轻情侣Yi Cheung与Mei正好自大学毕业,两人选择了他们热爱的生活,Yi Cheung当起了美术老师,Mei则成为护士,很快便怀上两人的孩子。此时经济发展愈发蓬勃,Yi Cheung为了想赚取更多薪水,他辞去教职而改当赌场的荷官,逐渐遗忘了当年自己与Mei所热爱的澳门生活,更开始被繁忙的工作所充斥。直到Mei离开他后,Yi Cheung才渐渐理解:原来变得富有并不意味成功,贫穷生活也绝非代表失败。

导演介绍

Shangshi Chen

陈尚实导演曾于中山大学攻读电子工程,毕业后成为创作歌手,并在2005年发行第一张专辑《真实感》,赢得该年度多项音乐大奖肯定。他自2007年赴荷里活音乐家学院深造后,转型成为一名音乐录影带导演,在2009至2015年之间,执导了超过40部音乐录影带,同时也创办三维动画公司三希堂,并制作了78集的动画作品。 2015年,他获得美国艺术中心设计学院的电影制作艺术硕士学位。短片作品《Heaven Knows》曾入围洛杉矶电影节,《幻觉围》则是他的首部剧情长片。

幕后人员

导演 Shangshi Chen

编剧 Meng Meng Chen

监制 Andy Loi

摄影 Jeff Su

美术指导 Tengbin Zhu

剪接 Howard Heard, Shangshi Chen

配乐 Wendy Cheang

造型设计 Mingyi Hong, Weimei Feng

演员 Eugene Tang, Kary Tang, Machi Chon, Bonnie Lei, Elvis Chao. Hedy Kou, Lok Cheong

制作公司 UTV Macau Internet Media Company ltd., Foshan 3C-Toon Media Co. Limited

发行 UTV Macau Internet Media Company ltd.

国际销售

20周年澳门特别展映

Patio of Illusion - IFFAM - 4th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

Patio of Illusion
Macao SAR | 2019 | 90’ | DCP | Colour | Cantonese | Group: B
Director: Shangshi Chen

Showtimes
2019/12/08 16:30 Macao Tower

Programmer’s Note

A gentle look at Macao’s past decades of historical changes and their inevitable impact on families and social structure, Patio of Illusion is a love letter to the precious cultural heritage of the city in urgent need of being preserved and appreciated. As seen through the eyes of a young couple – who have known each other since childhood and try to weather personal and collective ups and downs –  the transition from the dormant economy of a former Portuguese colony to the rampant empire of gaming and entertainment of today’s Macao – is portrayed with an intimate and affectionate perspective, which illustrates the dreams, first shattered then recomposed, of an entire society. Shangshi Chen, who is well versed in many disciplines of the arts, including music and narrative, informs his storytelling with positivity and honest candour. He pays special attention to the wonderful details of Macao’s architecture and fading cultures, in a successful attempt to expose the city’s outer and inner beauty to the world. A must see for this year’s anniversary of Macao’s handover to China.

– Giovanna Fulvi

Synopsis

Yi Cheung and Mei, a young couple in love, graduate from university in 1999, the same year as the handover of Macao back to China. They choose a life they value, he an art teacher and she a nurse, and soon she gets pregnant. However, as the economy starts to boom, Yi Cheung wants to make more money and quits his job to become a casino dealer. He starts to forget the old Macao that he and Mei used to wander around and becomes preoccupied with work. Only after Mei leaves him does he start to realise that wealth does not equal success and poverty does not equal failure.

Director

Shangshi Chen

Chinese director Shangshi Chen attended Sun Yat-sen University and majored in electronic engineering. Coming out of college, he became a singer and songwriter, and his first album Reality was released in 2005 winning him several awards in southern China for best new male singer of the year. After attending the Musicians Institute in Hollywood, USA, in 2007, he became a music video director, and directed over 40 music videos from 2009 to 2015, while also setting up a 3D animation company 3C Toon Co through he which he produced and directed 78 episodes of animated series Space Express. In 2015, he attended ArtCenter College Of Design, and took a Master of Fine Arts degree in film directing. His first short film was Heaven Knows; Patio Of Illusion is his first feature.

Cast & Crew

Director Shangshi Chen

Scriptwriter(s) Meng Meng Chen

Producer(s) Andy Loi

Cinematographer Jeff Su

Production Designer Tengbin Zhu

Editor Howard Heard, Shangshi Chen

Music Wendy Cheang

Costumes Designer Mingyi Hong, Weimei Feng

Cast Eugene Tang, Kary Tang, Machi Chon, Bonnie Lei, Elvis Chao. Hedy Kou, Lok Cheong

Production Companies UTV Macau Internet Media Company ltd., Foshan 3C-Toon Media Co. Limited

Distributor UTV Macau Internet Media Company ltd.

World Sales

20th Anniversary Macao Special Presentations