四百擊 - IFFAM - 4th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

四百擊
法國 | 1959 | 99’ | DCP | 黑白 | 法語 | 組別: B
導演: Francois Truffaut

放映時間
2019/12/08 18:00 戀愛‧電影館

策展人筆記

這部Francois Truffaut 1959年拍的自傳性電影,是導演充滿感懷的吶喊,即便現在看來依然令人驚嘆,觀影的當下能夠感覺到電影傳統正在改變。大部分的劇情都發生在冬日的巴黎街頭,觀眾彷彿在看一部手持攝影拍攝的紀錄片,記錄Antoine和好友Rene以超齡的自信穿梭在這座城市裡的身影。雖然Truffaut的電影乍看之下場景調度鬆散,絲毫不帶情緒,但其實整部片充滿了純粹呈現電影藝術之美的場景 – 在遊樂園開心地玩遊樂設施、俯瞰孩子們三三兩兩跑離體育老師、奔往海灘的經典畫面,當然還有片尾在海灘上意寓深遠的連續鏡頭。即使放到今天來看,都還是很大膽、很前衛,並且令人感動。14 歲的主角Jean-Pierre Leaud表現傑出,他和Truffaut沒有刻意灑狗血,已經足以讓我們一邊見證Antoine不經意被忽視和凌虐的童年,一邊感到心碎。

– Mike Goodridge

故事大綱

成人往往講起童年都會滔滔不絕,說那是「我人生中最快樂的時光。」對住在巴黎的13歲男孩Antoine Doinel來說,事實完全相反。在學校,他是不守規矩的調皮鬼,常常被處罰。在家裡,爸媽常常兇他,他們連自己的事情都來不及煩惱,根本沒力氣去關心兒子或試著了解他的問題。所以Antoine的行為偏差,從爸爸的辦公室偷走打字機等,又有什麼好奇怪的?

導演介紹

Francois Truffaut

Francois Truffaut 1932年2月6日生於巴黎,早期以影評身分嶄露頭角,後來成為法國新浪潮的主要成員。他的長片處女作《四百擊》佳評如潮,強烈展現了這種新型態的電影美學。不論是原創劇本作品 (尤其是Antoine Doinel五部曲) 或是改編自小說的作品 (《祖與占》、《Two English Girls》),他的電影都使他在短時間內成為成功的知名導演。Truffaut的電影生涯不乏經典作品,其中包括《射殺鋼琴師》 (1960) 、《烈火》(1966) 、《奪命佳人》(1968) 、《日以作夜》(1973) 、《情淚種情花》(1975)、《最後地下鐵》(1980)。1984年10月21日,Truffaut驟然離世,至今他仍深深影響著法國和全球電影。

幕後人員

導演 François Truffaut

編劇 François Truffaut, Marcel Moussy

監製 François Truffaut, Georges Charlot

攝影 Henri Decaë

美術指導 Bernard Evein

剪接 Marie-Josèphe Yoyotte

配樂 Jean Constantin

造型設計

演員 Jean-Pierre Léaud, Albert Rémy, Claire Maurier

製作公司 Les Films du Carrosse

發行

國際銷售 mk2 Films

導演視覺

The 400 Blows - IFFAM - 4th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

The 400 Blows
France | 1959 | 99’ | DCP | Colour | French/English | Group: B
Director: Francois Truffaut

Showtimes
2019/12/08 18:00 Cinematheque‧Passion

Programmer’s Note

It’s still a thrill to watch Francois Truffaut’s seminal, autiobiographical cri de coeur from 1959 and you can feel the traditions of cinema changing as you watch it. Much of the drama takes place on the wintry streets of Paris and you could be watching a handheld documentary as Antoine and his buddy Rene skip school and wander through the city with a confidence well beyond their age. But while Truffaut’s film may be rigorously matter-of-fact in its loosely structured mise en scene, it is also filled with artful scenes of pure, glorious cinema – from the joyful funfair ride to the aerial shot of the kids breaking away in clumps from their sports teacher to the iconic dash for the beach and of course the final profound sequence on the beach itself. It’s still bold today, and still daring, and still deeply moving. Without using any sentimental tricks, Truffaut and his superb 14 year-old lead Jean-Pierre Leaud break our hearts as we bear witness to the casual neglect and abuse of Antoine’s childhood.

Synopsis

As a rule, adults tend to wax sentimental over their childhood, describing it as “the happiest time of my life”. To Antoine Doinel a 13 year-old boy living in Paris, nothing could be further from the truth. At school, he is frequently punished as one of the most unruly boys in the classroom and at home he is thoroughly cowed by his parents who are so concerned with their own problems that they make no effort to display affection towards the boy, or to understand his problems. Is it any wonder that he misbehaves and steals a typewriter from his father’s office?

Director

Francois Truffaut

Born in Paris on Feb 6, 1932, Francois Truffaut began his career as a film critic and was one of the most famous members of the French “Nouvelle Vague”. His first film, Les Quatre Cents Coups (The 400 Blows) was a huge success and a powerful manifest of this new film aesthetics. Thanks to both original scripts (especially the Antoine Doinel series) and book adaptations (Jules and Jim, Two English Girls), he became quickly a successful and well-known director. His career encompassed other classics like Shoot The Piano Player (1960), Fahrenheit 451 (1966), The Bride Wore Black (1968), Day For Night (1973), The Story Of Adele H (1975) and The Last Metro (1980). He died suddenly on the Oct 21 1984 but still has a great influence on French and international cinema.

Cast & Crew

* Information is currently not available.

Director's Choice