孟买风情话 - IFFAM - 4th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

孟买风情话
印度,法国, 英国,卡塔尔 | 2019 | 93’ | DCP | 彩色 | 印地语 | 组别: B
导演: Gitanjali Rao

放映時間
2019/12/08 15:30 澳门文化中心小剧院

策展人笔记

Gitanjali Rao极其华美且动感的动画长片以戏中之戏开头,拥挤的孟买房舍内,嘈杂的众人观赏着宝莱坞英雄对抗恶徒、拯救美女的戏码。当期盼已久的深情亲吻竟被审查删减,观众们嬉闹吼叫,Rao旋即顺势将场景拉开到充满美好人生大梦和动人爱情憧憬的大都会。讽刺地是,尽管影像美不胜收,《孟买风情话》其实是一部如同《The World Of Apu》和《Salaam Bombay》的印度社会写实电影,其中数个故事翻转的日常艰苦和凡人悲剧,在远离现实的大银幕中得到了暂时的解放。除此之外,拉欧对角色的爱,以及对细节及颜色的精美设计也同样令人激赏。这无疑是一部苦乐参半,值得细腻品味和珍藏的成人动画电影。

– Mike Goodridge

故事大纲

一朵红玫瑰串连起三段不可能的爱情故事。一位印度教女孩与一名穆斯林少年间的爱、两个女人间的爱,以及一座城市对一位宝莱坞明星的爱。改编自真实故事,《孟买风情话》是一部关于乡村移民如何在大城市中挣扎求生的亲密纪事。

导演介绍

Gitanjali Rao

身为自学的动画师及电影创作者,Gitanjali Rao的动画短片《Printed Rainbow》于2006年在康城影展导演双周单元首映,并获得柯达探索奖,一举站上国际舞台。其他动画短片作品包括《Blue》(2000)、《Orange》(2002) 和《True Love Story》(2014) 皆获邀至超过150个国际影展放映,并获得逾30座奖项。她的作品皆采取逐格手绘,视觉风格受缤纷饱和的印度俗民美术影响甚巨。 《孟买风情话》是她的首部长片,耗时六年完成,并于今年八月在威尼斯影展盛大首映。

幕后人员

导演 Gitanjali Rao

编剧 Gitanjali Rao

监制 Rohit Khattar, Anand Mahindra

动画师 Sangita Khatu, Sanjay Dengle, Prashant Shikare

美术指导 Rupali Gatti

剪接 Gitanjali Rao

配乐 P.M. Satheesh

主要声音演员 Cycli Khare, Amit Deondi, Gargi Shitole, Makrand Deshpande

制作公司 Cinestaan Film Company, Les Films d’Ici

发行

国际销售 C International Sales

国际竞赛单元

Bombay Rose - IFFAM - 4th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

Bombay Rose
India, France, UK, Qatar | 2019 | 93’ | DCP | Colour | Hindi | Group: B
Director: Gitanjali Rao

Showtimes
2019/12/08 15:30 Macao Cultural Centre Small Auditorium

Programmer’s Note

Gitanjali Rao’s gorgeous, music-infused animated feature opens with a film within a film. A packed Mumbai talkies house watches as a butch Bollywood hero confronts the baddie and saves the heroine. The audience screams with derision when the eagerly awaited kiss is censored, but Rao has immediately set the scene of a teeming mega-city filled with big dreams and heartfelt romantic fantasies. Ironically, for the painterly splendor of the film’s images, Bombay Rose is a social realist Indian film – think The World Of Apu or Salaam Bombay – spinning multiple tales of everyday hardship and commonplace tragedy only temporarily relieved by the escapism of the big screen. It is no less lovely for that, infused with Rao’s love for the characters and exquisite attention to detail and colour. If ever there was a bittersweet animated film for adults to savour and treasure, this is it.

Synopsis

A red rose brings together three tales of impossible loves. Love between a Hindu girl and a Muslim boy. Love between two women. Love of an entire city for its Bollywood stars. Based on true events, Bombay Rose is a chronicle of intimate yet collective struggles of people who migrate from small towns, seeking minimal life in the maximum city.

Director

Gitanjali Rao

A self-taught animator and film-maker, Gitanjali Rao emerged onto the international stage with her animated short Printed Rainbow which premiered in Cannes Critic’s Week 2006 where it won the Kodak Discovery Award. Her four animated shorts – the others are Blue (2000), Orange (2002) and True Love Story (2014) – have been to over 150 international film festivals and won more than 30 awards. Painted frame by frame, the films’ visual style are inspired by the rich and varied folk art styles of India. Her first feature Bombay Rose took six years to complete and had its world premiere at the Venice Film Festival in August.

Cast & Crew

Director Gitanjali Rao

Scriptwriter(s) Gitanjali Rao

Producer(s) Rohit Khattar, Anand Mahindra

Animator Sangita Khatu, Sanjay Dengle, Prashant Shikare

Production Designer Rupali Gatti

Editor Gitanjali Rao

Music P.M. Satheesh

Principal Voice Cast Cycli Khare, Amit Deondi, Gargi Shitole, Makrand Deshpande

Production Companies Cinestaan Film Company, Les Films d’Ici

Distributor

World Sales C International Sales

International Competition