浮俘 - IFFAM - 4th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

浮俘
澳洲 | 2019 | 93’ | DCP | 彩色 | 高棉语, 泰语 | 组别: C
导演: Rodd Rathjen

放映時間
2019/12/08 21:45 澳门文化中心小剧院

策展人笔记

《浮俘》作品的力量来自于讲述了一则人口贩运的恐怖真实故事,并同时有效地将其发展成一名具有领袖魅力的年轻人的成长故事。内敛诠释Chakra一角的Sarm Heng,精湛演绎一名对美好未来充满希望的男孩,在狗咬狗的世界中奋力求生的身心转变,相当令人入戏且感到痛心。 Rodd Rathjen在首部作品中不仅点出了当代奴役的紧迫议题,更展现出他自身作为电影创作者的强大潜能。尽管片中场景多是艰苦、暴虐和残酷的渔船实况,摄影师Michael Latham还是神奇地在柬埔寨乡村和广阔海洋中捕捉到了充满对比的壮美片刻。这部电影在今年的柏林影展获得了人道主义评审团奖。

– Lorna Tee

故事大纲

在柬埔寨的偏远郊区中,14岁的Chakra和家人们种稻为生。渴望独立生活的他,向一名掮客求助,并找到了一份在泰国工厂的工作。于是,Chakra不告而别,前往曼谷展开他的致富之旅。与他的柬埔寨伙伴一起经历穿越边界的艰苦路途后,Chakra终于抵达泰国,却发现他和同乡友人Kea遭到掮客的欺骗,被卖给了一位渔船船长作船奴。从苦海中脱困的日子遥遥无期,他们每天被迫工作长达22小时,辛苦拖网打捞杂鱼,仅靠丁点冷饭糊口。无情的船长更冷酷地汰除瘦弱无力或企图逃跑的奴隶,将他们丢进大海。见证现实的残暴,一无所有的Chakra开始理解夺回自由所需付出的代价。

导演介绍

Rodd Rathjen

Rodd Rathjen是一位生于1981年的澳大利亚编剧、导演。他于2010年取得了维多利亚艺术学院的电影与电视大学学位。他的第一部短片《Tau Seru》(2013) 拍摄于印度,获康城影展影评人周单元选映,并在墨尔本国际影展得到最佳澳洲短片奖。他的第二部短片《Sweat》(2015)由Colin Friels主演。 《浮俘》是他的首部长片作品,于今年二月时在柏林影展大观单元进行世界首映。

幕后人员

导演 Rodd Rathjen

编剧 Rodd Rathjen

监制 Samatha Jennings

摄影 Michael Latham

美术指导 Bethany Ryan

剪接 Graeme Pereira

配乐 Lawrence English

造型设计 Salin Kuong

演员 Sarm Heng, Thanawut Kasro, Mony Ros, Saichia Wongwirot

製作公司 Causeway Films

发行

国际销售 Charades

国际竞赛单元

Buoyancy - IFFAM - 4th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

Buoyancy
Australia | 2019 | 93’ | DCP | Colour | Khmer, Thai | Group: C
Director: Rodd Rathjen

Showtimes
2019/12/08 21:45 Macao Cultural Centre Small Auditorium

Programmer’s Note

The power of Buoyancy lies in how a horrific true story of human trafficking can simultaneously and effectively function as the personal coming of age tale of a charismatic young man. Indeed the transformation of Chakra (poignantly played by Sarm Heng) from a boy filled with hope for a better future to a young man fighting for survival in a dog-eat-dog world, is mesmerizing and heartbreaking. Roth Rathjen not only delivers a debut film highlighting the very urgent problem of modern slavery, but showcases himself as an assured filmmaker of significant potential. He is ably assisted by cinematographer Michael Latham who magnificently captures incongruous moments of spectacular beauty – the Cambodian countryside and vast ocean expanses – amid scenes of hardship, abject violence and brutality on the fishing vessel. The film won the Ecumenical Jury award in Berlinale this year.

Synopsis

Deep in rural Cambodia 14 year-old Chakra works the rice fields with his family. He yearns for independence and seeks out a broker who can get him paid work in a Thai factory. Without telling his family, Chakra travels to Bangkok to make his fortune. After a grueling journey across the border with other Cambodians, Chakra finally arrives in Thailand. But there he and fellow Cambodian Kea realise that the Broker has lied to them. He sells Chakra and Kea as slaves to a fishing captain. Trapped at sea indefinitely, they are forced to work 22 hours a day trawling trash fish and surviving on a handful of cold rice. The ruthless captain quickly weeds out those slaves weakened by the conditions or trying to escape, and throws them overboard. Schooled in brutality and with nothing to lose, Chakra starts to understand what it will take to attain freedom.

Director

Rodd Rathjen

Rodd Rathjen is an Australian writer/director born on in 1981. He completed a Bachelor of Film and Television from the Victorian College of the Arts in 2010. His first short film Tau Seru (2013) was shot in India and was selected as part of Cannes Critics Week, also winning best Australian short at the Melbourne International Film Festival. His second short film Sweat (2015) starred Colin Friels. Buoyancy is his debut feature film and had its world premiere in the Panorama section of the Berlinale in Feb this year.

Cast & Crew

Director Rodd Rathjen

Scriptwriter(s) Rodd Rathjen

Producer(s) Samatha Jennings

Cinematographer Michael Latham

Production Designer Bethany Ryan

Editor Graeme Pereira

Music Lawrence English

Costumes Designer Salin Kuong

Cast Sarm Heng, Thanawut Kasro, Mony Ros, Saichia Wongwirot

Production Companies Causeway Films

Distributor

World Sales Charades

International Competition