活著唱著 - IFFAM - 4th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

活著唱著
中國內地, 法國 | 2019 | 116’ | DCP | 彩色 | 普通話 | 組別: B
導演: Johnny Ma

放映時間
2019/12/08 20:45 澳門舊法院大樓

策展人筆記

現代化常以拆除建築物的巨大聲響為象徵,馬楠的第二部劇情長片面對現代化及保存悠久傳統的拉鋸,以動人且溫柔的方式,處理國劇及文化遺產凋零的問題,本片靈感來自一部紀錄片,介紹川劇團生存受到觀眾減少及都市再開發等威脅,電影拍攝手法近於記錄真實生活,也聘請真正的國劇演員詮釋虛構的自我,鏡頭穿梭於破敗劇團後台,讓觀眾細聽吟唱古老故事的美妙音符,凝視華麗而繽紛的戲服,更能感受到一切即將終止的痛苦和威脅,一如李朝和丹丹各種強而有力的演出。再加上意外發掘國劇之神的法術,不禁令人好奇,這個魔幻世界消失後還剩下什麼,直至此時導演才透露,我們所見的情景或許正是一齣從未表演過的新國劇。

– Giovanna Fulvi

故事大綱

李朝是一個小型川劇團的演出經理,和團員一同住在成都市郊的破敗劇院演出,自從聽說劇院即將拆除,她選擇隱瞞大家,深怕劇團會因此解散,屆時不僅表演空間消失,整個劇團的生計也將無以為繼,她努力想找尋新劇場,讓大家能活著唱著,卻處處碰壁,但幻想川劇角色也逐漸進入她的真實世界。

導演介紹

Johnny Ma

馬楠生於中國上海,十歲移民至加拿大多倫多,自哥倫比亞大學電影系畢業後,曾在2014年擔任日舞編劇及導演實驗室學人,他在2012年搬回中國,拍攝長20分鐘的影片《A Grand Canal》做為畢業作品,並在多倫多國際電影節首映。他的首部劇情片《老石》於2016年在柏林影展舉行世界首映,在多倫多國際電影節獲得最佳加拿大首部劇情片獎,以及加拿大電影獎的最佳首部劇情片獎,該片共獲得最佳電影等五項提名《活著唱著》於今年五月在康城影展導演雙週單元舉行世界首映。

幕後人員

導演 Johnny Ma

編劇 Johnny Ma

監製 Vincent Wang

攝影 Matthias Delvaux

美術指導

剪接 Ana Godoy

配樂 Jongho You

造型設計 Adam Lim

演員 Zhao Xiaoli, Gan Guidan,Yan Xihu

製作公司 House on Fire Productions, Image X Production

發行

國際銷售 Films Boutique

新華語映像

To Live to Sing - IFFAM - 4th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

To Live to Sing
Mainland China, France | 2019 | 116’ | DCP | Colour | Chinese | Group: B
Director: Johnny Ma

Showtimes
2019/12/08 20:45 Macao Old Court Building

Programmer’s Note

Poised between modernisation – with its thunderous, symbolic demolition of buildings – and the preservation of long treasured traditions, Johnny Ma’s second feature is a touching, tender film on the fading world of Chinese Opera and its endangered cultural legacy. Inspired by a documentary about a Sichuan Opera troupe, whose existence is threatened by dwindling audiences and urban redevelopment, the film keeps its cinematic approach close to the recording of real life and employs real opera performers to play fictionalized versions of themselves. While we roam the backstage of rundown theatres, listen to the notes of beautifully sung ancient stories, and gaze at lavishly colourful costumes, we experience the pain and threat of an imminent end – as sculpted in the powerful performances of Zhao Li and Dan Dan. And, guided to ever surprising discoveries by the magic of a god of opera, we wonder what will remain after this enchanted world is gone. Only then does Ma reveal that what we are watching might actually be a brand new, never before performed, Chinese Opera.

Synopsis

Zhao Li is the manager of a small Sichuan Opera troupe, living and performing together in a rundown theatre located in the outskirts of Chengdu, China. When she receives the notice of demolition for the theatre, Zhao Li hides the news from everyone else, fearing that this could spell the end of her opera troupe: besides the physical demolition of their space, it’s the life of her ‘family’ that is at stake. As she struggles to search for a new theatre for them to both sing and live in, the opera and its fantastic characters slowly begin to seep into her real world.

Director

Johnny Ma

Born as Ma Nan in Shanghai, China, Johnny first immigrated to Toronto, Canada, at the age of ten. Johnny graduated from the film program at Columbia University and was a fellow at the Sundance Institute Screenwriting and Directing Lab in 2014. In 2012, Ma moved back to China to make his 20 minute thesis film A Grand Canal, which premiered at the Toronto International Film Festival. Ma’s feature debut Old Stone world premiered at the Berlinale in 2016. It was awarded the Best Canadian First Feature Award at the Toronto International Film Festival and Best First Feature at the Canadian Screen Awards. The film was nominated in five other categories, including Best Film. To Live To Sing had its world premiere in Directors’ Fortnight at Cannes in May this year.

Cast & Crew

Director Johnny Ma

Scriptwriter(s) Johnny Ma

Producer(s) Vincent Wang

Cinematographer Matthias Delvaux

Production Designer

Editor Ana Godoy

Music Jongho You

Costumes Designer Adam Lim

Cast Zhao Xiaoli, Gan Guidan,Yan Xihu

Production Companies House on Fire Productions, Image X Production

Distributor

World Sales Films Boutique

New Chinese Cinema