热带雨 - IFFAM - 4th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

热带雨
新加坡 | 2019 | 103’ | DCP | 彩色 | 普通话, 英语 | 组别: C
导演: Anthony Chen

放映時間
2019/12/08 18:15 澳门旧法院大楼

策展人笔记

陈哲艺在2013年一战成名,以首部电影《爸妈不在家》拿下康城影展金摄影奖,以及金马奖最佳电影奖,第二部作品《热带雨》也不令人失望,以优雅而有力道的方式剖析女性处境,从不使用过于张狂的戏剧效果,而是细腻地带领观众走进人物角色复杂的日常生活。在《爸妈不在家》饰演母子的杨雁雁和许家乐再度交手,探究个人与专业关系中的政治,杨雁雁再次充分发挥阿玲这个角色,体现亚洲许多女性面临的困境,背负着责任、在没有爱的婚姻中感到孤立,一举一动都受到检视。 《热带雨》刻画新加坡在当代的图像,当和另一人产生关联时,很可能会危及一生。

– Lorna Tee

故事大纲

新加坡正值季风雨季,整座城市下着倾盆大雨,华语教师阿玲因为无法怀孕生子,婚姻及学校生活都分崩离析。后来意外地与学生建立友谊后,反而令她重拾身为女性的身分。

导演介绍

Anthony Chen

陈哲艺是新加坡编剧、导演兼制片,17岁时就依循自身志向就读电影学校,先后在新加坡及英国的国家影视学校受训,过去短片也曾在多场知名电影节展出及获奖,包括康城、柏林、鹿特丹、釜山、伦敦、悉尼、墨尔本、芝加哥等。首部剧情长片《爸妈不在家》于2013年康城影展首映,并荣获金摄影奖,该片后续夺得40座国际奖项,包括伦敦电影节,并在台湾第50届金马奖获得四奖。他与妻儿现居英国伦敦。

幕后人员

导演 Anthony Chen

编剧 Anthony Chen

监制 Anthony Chen

摄影 Sam Care

美术指导

剪接 Hoping Chen

配乐

造型设计

演员 Yeo Yann Yann, Christopher Lee, Koh Jia Ler, Yang Shi Bin

制作公司 Giraffe Pictures

发行 MM2 Entertainment

国际销售 Memento Films International

新华语映像

Wet Season - IFFAM - 4th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

Wet Season
Singapore | 2019 | 103’ | DCP | Colour | Mandarin, English | Group: C
Director: Anthony Chen

Showtimes
2019/12/08 18:15 Macao Old Court Building

Programmer’s Note

Anthony Chen made a name for himself with his first film, Ilo Ilo, winning the Camera D’or in Cannes and the Golden Horse Award for Best Film in 2013. His second film, Wet Season does not disappoint. Chen has crafted an elegant and powerful film exploring the female condition, never resorting to showy dramatic sequences, but delicately allowing the audience to engage with the complex day to day lives of his characters. Reunited with the terrific Yeo Yann Yann and Koh Jie Ler, who played mother and son in Ilo Ilo, the film explores the politics of relationships, both personal and professional. Yeo once again shines brightly as Ling, her character embodying the struggle of many women in Asia – burdened by responsibilities, isolated in a loveless marriage, monitored in every move of her social conduct. Wet Season presents a portrait of Singapore in contemporary times, where finding a connection with another person could endanger your entire life.

Synopsis

It is monsoon season in Singapore and the city is pouring with rain. Ling, a Chinese language teacher, finds her marriage and school life falling apart because she is unable to bear a child. But an unlikely friendship with a student helps her reaffirm her identity as a woman.

Director

Anthony Chen

Anthony Chen is a writer-director and producer from Singapore. He started film school at the young age of 17 to pursue his passion in filmmaking. He was trained in Singapore and then at the National Film and Television School, UK, and his shorts have screened and been awarded at numerous prestigious festivals including Cannes, Berlin, Rotterdam, Busan, London, Sydney, Melbourne, and Chicago. He is best known for his debut feature Ilo Ilo which premiered at the 2013 Cannes Film Festival and was awarded the Camera d’Or. The film went on to win forty awards internationally, including the Sutherland Award at BFI London Film Festival, and four Golden Horse Awards at the 50th Golden Horse Awards in Taiwan. He is now based in London, UK where he lives with his wife and son.

Cast & Crew

Director Anthony Chen

Scriptwriter(s) Anthony Chen

Producer(s) Anthony Chen

Cinematographer Sam Care

Production Designer

Editor Hoping Chen

Music

Costumes Designer

Cast Yeo Yann Yann, Christopher Lee, Koh Jia Ler, Yang Shi Bin

Production Companies Giraffe Pictures

Distributor MM2 Entertainment

World Sales Memento Films International

New Chinese Cinema