茫茫人生 - IFFAM - 4th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

茫茫人生
澳洲, 德國, 意大利 | 2019 | 173’ | DCP | 彩色, 黑白 | 英語, 德語 | 組別: B
導演: Terrence Malick

放映時間
2019/12/07 13:40 澳門文化中心小劇院

策展人筆記

Terrence Malick在职业生涯中,作品逐渐聚焦于灵性,《A Hidden Life》看似温和,但以极为精准的手法,描述在奥地利陷入纳粹主义的深渊之际,一名正直犹如基督的人物与永恒灵魂对抗,当世界对忽视良心的人有利时,本片反思坚守真实和正派的意义。导演叩问在暴政之下,一个好人能做些什么,电影设定在1939年至1943年间,社会既沉痛又坐困愁城,August Diehl饰演虔诚的奥地利农民Franz Jagerstatter,与家人生活富足,他的诠释相当具有说服力,电影呈现自然与大地的韵律,深刻且动人,描述主角为了宗教理由拒绝入伍,甚至不惜付出最大代价。

– Fionnuala Halligan

故事大綱

本片改編自真實故事,描述奧地利農夫Franz Jagerstatter在二戰時期因拒絕服役,面臨納粹以叛國罪處決的威脅,然而他堅守自己的良心信仰、對妻子Fani及孩子的關愛,在亂世中保有屹立不屈的精神。

導演介紹

Terrence Malick

Terrence Malick 1943年出生,1969年畢業於洛杉磯的美國電影學院,其首部長片《荒漠情》(1973)由Martin Sheen和Sissy Spacek主演,被公認是70年代最好的美國電影之一。他以第二部電影《夢斷天涯》(1978)首度入圍康城影展,隨後退出影壇多年,直到《狂林戰曲》(1998)才重執導筒,並以此部戰爭史詩片拿下柏林影展金熊獎,開啟他重返影壇的多產時期,陸續拍出《美麗新世界》(2005)、榮獲康城金棕櫚獎的《生命樹》(2011)、《愛是神奇》(2012) 、《聖杯騎士》( 2015)、以及今年入圍康城競賽的《A Hidden Life》等作品。

幕後人員

導演 Terrence Malick

編劇 Terrence Malick

監製 Grant Hill

攝影 Joerg Widmer

美術指導 Sebastian Krawinkel

剪接 Rehman Ali, Joseph Gleason, Sebastian Jones

配樂 James Newton Howard

造型設計 Lisy Christl

演員 August Diehl, Valerie Pachner, Maria Simon, Karin Neuhäuser, Michael Nyqvist, Matthias Schoenaerts, Bruno Ganz, Alexander Fehling, Ulrich Matthes, Karl Markovics, Franz Rogowski, Martin Wuttke

製作公司 Iris Productions, Elizbeth bay / Aceway

發行 Fox Searchlight

國際銷售 Mister Smith

特別展映

A Hidden Life - IFFAM - 4th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

A Hidden Life
Austria, Germany, Italy | 2019 | 173’ | DCP | Colour, Black & White | English, German | Group: B
Director: Terrence Malick

Showtimes
2019/12/07 13:40 Macao Cultural Centre Small Auditorium

Programmer’s Note

Throughout his career, Terrence Malick’s films have increasingly focused on, or wrested with, the spiritual. The seemingly-gentle A Hidden Life would appear to be following this through line, but a deceptive precision elevates this story of a righteous, Christ-like figure who battles with his eternal soul as his country – Austria – plunges willingly into the darkness of Nazism.  This is a meditation on what it means to walk the path of truth and decency in a world which rewards those who ignore their consciences. What can one good man do in the face of tyranny, asks Malick, and his question comes at a poignant time for a world which seems just as beleaguered as it was between 1939 and 1943 when this film is set. Playing Franz Jagerstatter, a religious Austrian farmer living a rich and rewarding life with his family on the land, August Diehl is quietly compelling. With a pace informed by the rhythms of the land around him, A Hidden Life is a profoundly moving, deeply rooted film about a conscientious objector who is willing to play the ultimate price.

– Fionnuala Halligan

Synopsis

The true story of Franz Jagerstatter, an Austrian peasant farmer who, when faced with the threat of execution for treason by the Nazis in World War II, keeps his spirit alive by his unwavering faith and his love for his wife Fani and their children.

Director

Terrence Malick

Born in 1943, Terrence Malick graduated from the AFI Conservatory in Los Angeles in 1969 and made his feature debut with Badlands (1973) starring Martin Sheen and Sissy Spacek which is widely considered one of the best American films of that decade. After his second film Days of Heaven (1978), which was his first in competition at Cannes, he took a long break from cinema and didn’t make another film until The Thin Red Line in 1998. The epic war film won the Golden Bear at Berlinale and led to a prolific period of renewed activity including The New World (2005), The Tree Of Life (2011, Palme d’Or winner at Cannes), To The Wonder (2012), Knight Of Cups (2015)and A Hidden Life (2019) which premiered in competition at Cannes.

Cast & Crew

Director Terrence Malick

Scriptwriter(s) Terrence Malick

Producer(s) Grant Hill

Cinematographer Joerg Widmer

Production Designer Sebastian Krawinkel

Editor Rehman Ali, Joseph Gleason, Sebastian Jones

Music James Newton Howard

Costumes Designer Lisy Christl

Cast August Diehl, Valerie Pachner, Maria Simon, Karin Neuhäuser, Michael Nyqvist, Matthias Schoenaerts, Bruno Ganz, Alexander Fehling, Ulrich Matthes, Karl Markovics, Franz Rogowski, Martin Wuttke

Production Companies Iris Productions, Elizbeth bay / Aceway

Distributor Fox Searchlight

World Sales Mister Smith

Special Presentations