追擊黑水真相 - IFFAM - 4th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

追擊黑水真相
美國 | 2019 | 126’ | DCP | 彩色 | 英語 | 組別: B
導演: Todd Haynes

放映時間
2019/12/08 21:30 澳門旅遊塔會展娛樂中心

策展人筆記

改編自2016年在《紐約時報雜誌》的文章「成為杜邦最大夢魘的男人」,《Dark Waters》描述美國企業違法的作為令人震憾,尤其在氣候變遷環境下更顯得切身。Todd Haynes將他的優雅帶入影壇,呈現以小搏大的經典法律劇情(如《伊人當自強》、《The Insider》等),一方面延續同類電影的節奏,同時令觀眾對杜邦在社會各階層的影響力感到不安。戲中的律師Rob Bilott慶祝兒子誕生或和家人共度聖誕節,但也不時提醒,當規模數十億美元的企業無視人員安全,每個家庭都很脆弱,在Mark Ruffalo詮釋之下,以沉靜而有力道的方式,展現荷里活最精彩的敘事傳統。

– Mike Goodridge

故事大綱

Rob Bilott是名企業環境律師,他剛在辛辛那提市一家知名律師樓榮升合夥人,就接獲一位西維珍尼亞州的農夫投訴,指稱大型化工公司杜邦疑似在當地的垃圾填埋地傾倒廢棄毒物,進而毀壞良田、毒害牲口。為了揭發幕後真相,他展開一場長達15年的漫長司法戰爭,不僅讓他與妻子Sarah的關係備受磨難,也連帶考驗了他的名譽、健康、乃至生計。

導演介紹

Todd Haynes

Todd Haynes 生於洛杉磯,編導作品獲獎無數,他的第一部短片《巨星–嘉倫卡本達故事》(1987)利用芭比玩偶演繹傳奇女歌手的生死故事,在影壇掀起話題,首部長片《Poison》(1991)更於辛丹斯電影節贏得評審團大獎,進而開啟後續一系列的成功作品,諸如《Safe》(1995)、康城影展評審團特別獎得主《紫醉金迷》(1998)、榮獲奧斯卡最佳編劇等四項提名的《天上人間》(2002)、入圍六項奧斯卡獎的《卡露的情人》(2015) 等電影。2011年,他以電視劇集《幻世浮生》獲得五座艾美獎與三座金球獎榮耀。

幕後人員

導演 Todd Haynes

編劇 Maria Correa

監製 Mark Ruffalo, Christine Vachon, Pamela Koffler

攝影 Edward Lachman

美術指導 Hannah Beachler

剪接 Affonso Goçalves

配樂

造型設計 Christopher Peterson

演員 Mark Ruffalo, Anne Hathaway, Tim Robbins, Bill Camp, Victor Garber, Mare Winningham, William Jackson Harper, Bill Pullman, Louisa Krause

製作公司 A Willi Hill, Killer Content

發行 Golden Scene Co. Ltd.

國際銷售 Lionsgate

特別展映

Dark Waters - IFFAM - 4th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

Dark Waters
US | 2019 | 126’ | DCP | Colour | English | Group: B
Director: Todd Haynes

Showtimes
2019/12/08 21:30 Macau Tower 

Programmer’s Note

Based on the 2016 article “The Man Who Became DuPont’s Worst Nightmare” published in The New York Times Magazine, Dark Waters is the shocking story of corporate malfeasance in the US which couldn’t be more relevant in a world stricken by climate change. Todd Haynes brings his elegant style to the film which is structured as a classic David Vs Goliath legal drama (see Erin Brockovich, The Insider et al), following the traditional beats of the sub-genre in a reassuring way, yet keeping the audience continually unsettled at the power that DuPont wields at every level of society. Even while crusading attorney Rob Bilott celebrates the birth of a new son or a family Christmas, Haynes makes us aware how vulnerable his own – and every – household is to the reckless disregard for human safety practised by these multi-billion dollar companies. A quietly powerful, disturbing film made in the very best tradition of Hollywood storytelling and boasting a compelling lead turn by Mark Ruffalo as Bilott.

– Mike Goodridge

Synopsis

Corporate environmental defense attorney Rob Bilott has just made partner at his prestigious Cincinatti law firm when he is contacted by a West Virginia farmer who believes that the local DuPont plant is dumping toxic waste in the area landfill that is destroying their fields and killing their cattle. Hoping to learn the truth of what is happening, Bilott files a complaint that marks the beginning of an epic 15-year fight that will not only test his relationship with his wife Sarah, but his reputation, his health and his livelihood.

Director

Todd Haynes

Todd Haynes is an award-winning director and screenwriter. Born in Los Angeles, Haynes made waves with his first short film Superstar: The Karen Carpenter Story (1987) which used Barbie dolls to portray the life and death of the famous singer. His debut feature Poison (1991) went on to win the Grand Jury Prize at the Sundance Film Festival and kick-started a run of successful films including Safe (1995), Velvet Goldmine (1998), which won the special jury prize at Cannes, Far from Heaven (2002), which won four Oscar nominations including for Haynes’ screenplay, Carol (2015), which won six Oscar nominations. His 2011 TV miniseries Mildred Pierce won five Emmys and three Golden Globes.

Cast & Crew

Director Todd Haynes

Scriptwriter(s) Maria Correa

Producer(s) Mark Ruffalo, Christine Vachon, Pamela Koffler

Cinematographer Edward Lachman

Production Designer Hannah Beachler

Editor Affonso Goçalves

Music

Costumes Designer Christopher Peterson

Cast Mark Ruffalo, Anne Hathaway, Tim Robbins, Bill Camp, Victor Garber, Mare Winningham, William Jackson Harper, Bill Pullman, Louisa Krause

Production Companies A Willi Hill, Killer Content

Distributor Golden Scene Co. Ltd.

World Sales Lionsgate

Special Presentations