海上花 - IFFAM - 4th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

海上花
台灣地區 | 1998 | 130’  | DCP | 彩色 | 廣東話,上海話 | 組別: C
導演: Hou Hsiao-Hsien

放映時間
2019/12/10 19:00 戀愛‧電影館

策展人筆記

侯導在《海上花》中有別以往一向偏重臺灣歷史政治、經濟和社會中的情感面,反而聚焦於中國歷史裡獨特且迷人的一段時光。時間背景落在19世紀末期的上海,電影講述青樓女子們的故事,這群頗富涵養的交際花很享受妓院授予她們的權利,隨心所欲地支配情場歡愛。這部電影的視覺奢昂,有富麗堂皇的布景與華美的戲服,拍攝與演出皆精緻細膩。侯導一絲不苟的剪接呈現出「長三書寓」精工雕琢的隔絕世界,他將焦點由線性敘事轉至片中角色的情緒轉換。雅致且流暢的鏡頭展現出這封閉世界內的人生百態,高度精準地捕捉到內心細膩的轉折或壓抑的情緒,此片被被公認為1990年代的曠世巨作之一。

– Giovanna Fulvi

故事大綱

這部時代劇帶我們回到1880年代上海的十里洋場。政商名流忘返於別名為「長三書寓」的高級妓院,男人手持鴉片煙,聚在餐桌飲食或打牌;而女人則盡其所能地吸引嫖客並與之為伍。

導演介紹

Hou Hsiao-Hsien

侯孝賢於1947年生於廣東省梅縣,隔年,他隨家人移民來臺灣。侯孝賢畢業於國立藝專電影科(今國立臺灣藝術大學電影系),1973年時進入電影圈擔任場記。累積多年的片場經驗後,於1980年拍了第一部長片電影《就是溜溜的她》,而《風櫃來的人》(1983)和《冬冬的假期》(1984)讓侯孝賢成為台灣電影新浪潮的先驅者。侯孝賢的《悲情城市》(1989)是「台灣三部曲」的第一篇章,於1989年得到威尼斯影展金獅獎。2015年時,侯導的《刺客聶隱娘》在康城影展奪得最佳導演獎。

幕後人員

導演 Hsiao-Hsien Hou

編劇 T’ien-wen Chu, Eileen Chang, Han Bangqing

監製 Shôzô Ichiyama, Teng-Kuei Yang

攝影 Mark Lee Ping-Bing

美術指導 Wen-Ying Huang

剪接 Ching-Song Liao

配樂 Yoshihiro Hanno, Duu-Chih Tu

造型設計 Wen-Ying Huang, Shu-Chen Liao, Bu-Hai Shen

演員 Tony Chiu-Wai Leung, Michiko Hada, Michelle Reis, Carina Lau, Jack Kao

製作公司 3H Productions, Shochiku

發行

國際銷售 Shochiku Co.,Ltd.

特別展映

Flowers of Shanghai - IFFAM - 4th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

Flowers of Shanghai
Taiwan Region | 1998 | 130’ | DCP | Colour | Cantonese, Shanghainese | Group: C
Director: Hou Hsiao-Hsien

Showtimes
2019/12/10 19:00 Cinematheque‧Passion

Programmer’s Note

In Flowers of Shanghai Hou Hsiao-Hsien turns away from his series of films about the emotional economic, political, and social history of Taiwan, to focus on a unique and fascinating segment of Chinese history. Set in Shanghai in the late 19th century, the film tells a story of women, of cultivated courtesans who enjoyed the power that the rules of the houses conferred them and could accept or reject lovers as they liked. Visually sumptuous with gorgeous sets and magnificent costumes, the film is exquisitely shot and acted.  Its rigorous editing encapsulates the rituals of the isolated, ornate world of the ‘flower houses’ while Hou’s interest drifts from linear storytelling to the shifting of emotions of his characters. Elegant and fluid camera movements reveal the inner life of this closed world, capturing slight changes of hearts or stifled feelings with surprising accuracy, in what is considered one of the great masterpieces of the 1990’s.

– Giovanna Fulvi

Synopsis

This period piece takes us back to the 1880s Shanghai where elegant brothels, also known as ‘flower houses’, located around the British Concession, were frequented by court officials and dignitaries. Here, men, with opium pipes at hand, gathered around tables of food and games, while women tried their best to befriend and attract patrons.

Director

Hou Hsiao-Hsien

Hsiao-Hsien Hou was born in Mei County, Guangdong in 1947. The following year, he moved to Taiwan with his family. Hou graduated from the National Taiwan Academy of Arts and entered the film industry in 1973 as a script supervisor. After years of working on set, he made his first feature Lovable You in 1980. With films like The Boys From Fengkuei (1983) and A Summer At Grandpa’s (1984), Hou became a leading character in the New Taiwanese Cinema movement. His film A City Of Sadness (1989), the first of his ‘Taiwanese History Trilogy’, won the Golden Lion at the Venice Film Festival in 1989. In 2015, He was awarded Best Director at the Cannes Film Festival for The Assassin.

Cast & Crew

Director Hsiao-Hsien Hou

Scriptwriter(s) T’ien-wen Chu, Eileen Chang, Han Bangqing

Producer(s) Shôzô Ichiyama, Teng-Kuei Yang

Cinematographer Mark Lee Ping-Bing

Production Designer Wen-Ying Huang

Editor Ching-Song Liao

Music Yoshihiro Hanno, Duu-Chih Tu

Costumes Designer Wen-Ying Huang, Shu-Chen Liao, Bu-Hai Shen

Cast Tony Chiu-Wai Leung, Michiko Hada, Michelle Reis, Carina Lau, Jack Kao

Production Companies 3H Productions, Shochiku

Distributor

World Sales Shochiku Co.,Ltd.

Special Presentations