換面人生 - IFFAM - 4th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

換面人生
荷蘭, 英國, 比利時, 愛爾蘭 | 2019 | 104’ | DCP | 彩色 | 英語 | 組別: D
導演: Sacha Polak

放映時間
2019/12/07 21:30 戀愛‧電影館

策展人筆記

在Sacha Polak啟發性十足的新作中,一位遭到前男友潑酸攻擊而毀容的年輕女性,掙扎著重建自我與世界的連結。荷蘭導演在東倫敦的公屋中搬演了極具衝擊性的故事,講述如何脫離大眾的凝視及嘲笑,接受自我當下的模樣,並找到自己的性別自信。Polak引導首次演出電影的Vicky Knight飾演女主角Jade,帶來了令人印象深刻,且相當引人入戲的表現。她的角色是一位帶著幼女、缺乏自信的母親,同時也是一位被無法想像的暴行擊潰身心,終仍勉力生活下去的倖存者。堅強的Jade不想一直當個受害者,然而,自我卻是最大的敵人。在動感十足的影像中,Polak和Knight講述了無論生活如何艱難,希望始終存在的故事,給我們帶來了新的女主人公。

– Fionnuala Halligan

故事大綱

Jade是一位英國倫敦的年輕媽媽,她正努力嘗試在強酸造成的嚴重毀容傷勢中振作起來。受創之前,由於教育水平較低,工作機會也少,Jade最大的本錢僅有自己的美貌。儘管醫師已盡力治療,她終究注定無法恢復原來的美麗。於是,Jade必須展開重建自我的巨大任務。被迫與幼小的女兒分離後,她在網路上找到一塊得以依託慾望及情感慰藉的私密園地。然而,來自網上陌生人的意外威脅卻讓她的生活更加天翻地覆,連身邊的人也無力救她於水火。當家庭生活與友情關係紛紛崩解,已陷人生谷底的她終於有了新的體悟。積極改變的她,終於找到了歸返自我及親愛女兒的路途。

導演介紹

Sacha Polak

Sacha Polak (1982)是一位已獲許多獎項肯定的荷蘭導演及編劇。她於2006年畢業於荷蘭影視學院,首部作品《Hemel》(2012)及第二部作品《蘇黎世》(2014) 皆獲柏林影展論壇單元選映,並分別贏得了FIPRESCI獎及國際藝術電影聯盟獎。新作《換面人生》在2019年辛丹斯電影節世界電影競賽單元進行了世界首映,同時也獲選為2019年鹿特丹影展開幕片。

幕後人員

導演 Sacha Polak

編劇 Susanne Farrell, Sacha Polak

監製 Marleen Slot, Michael Elliott

攝影 Rubens Impens

美術指導 Sanne Schat

剪接 Sander Vos

配樂 Rutger Reinders

造型設計

演員 Vicky Knight, Katherine Kelly, Rebecca Stone

製作公司 Viking Film, Emu Films

發行

國際銷售 Independent

環球展影全覽

Dirty God - IFFAM - 4th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

Dirty God
Netherlands, UK, Belgium, Ireland | 2019 | 104’ | DCP | Colour | English | Group: D
Director: Sacha Polak

Showtimes
2019/12/07 21:30 Cinematheque‧Passion

Programmer’s Note

A young woman, disfigured after an acid attack by her ex-boyfriend, struggles to connect with herself and the world again in Sacha Polak’s revelatory film. The Dutch director moves to an British council estate in East London with deceptive ease to deliver a highly-impact story about what it means to rise above the stares and derision to accept yourself for what you are now – and that includes functioning as a sexual being again. Polak has guided first-time actor Vicky Knight to a deeply impressive, almost immersive performance as Jade, unconfident mother to a young child and a survivor of unthinkable abuse whose sense of self has been shattered. The headstrong Jade is no victim, though, and she can also be her own worst enemy: Polak and Knight give us a new heroine here, helped by some dynamic imagery in a story of the hope that exists in a difficult life.

Synopsis

Jade is a young mother from London, UK, who must pick up the pieces after an acid attack leaves her with severe facial burns. Prior to the attack, with limited education and opportunities, Jade’s main currency was her looks. Her face has been reconstructed, but her beauty is gone. Jade must set about rebuilding herself, a gargantuan task. Cast adrift from her young daughter, Jade finds solace in the hidden world of online liaisons where she finds the passion and connection she has been craving. However, the actions of a stranger threaten to turn her life upside down once more, and those around her are ill-equipped to halt her descent. As family life and friendships start to crumble, her lowest ebb proves the inspiration that Jade needs. She takes drastic action, finally finding her path back to her daughter and herself.

Director

Sacha Polak

Sacha Polak (1982) is an award winning director and screenwriter from The Netherlands. In 2006 she graduated from the Dutch Academy for Film and Television. Her first feature film Hemel (2012) won the FIPRESCI Award at the Berlinale Forum and her second Zurich (2014) won the International Confederation of Art Cinemas Award (CICAE prize) at the Berlinale Forum. Dirty God had its world premiere in the World Cinema Dramatic Competition of Sundance 2019 and was the opening film of the International Film Festival Rotterdam 2019.

Cast & Crew

Director Sacha Polak

Scriptwriter(s) Susanne Farrell, Sacha Polak

Producer(s) Marleen Slot, Michael Elliott

Cinematographer Rubens Impens

Production Designer Sanne Schat

Editor Sander Vos

Music Rutger Reinders

Costumes Designer

Cast Vicky Knight, Katherine Kelly, Rebecca Stone

Production Companies Viking Film, Emu Films

Distributor

World Sales Independent

World Panorama