小魔花 - IFFAM - 4th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

小魔花
澳洲, 英國, 德國 | 2019 | 105’ | DCP | 彩色 | 英語 | 組別: B
導演: Jessica Hausner

放映時間
2019/12/05 19:15 戀愛‧電影館

策展人筆記

類型電影逐漸成為闡述今日世界混局最有效的方式,今年的《上流寄生族》或《JOKER小丑》均為範例,極具才華的奧地利導演Jessica Hausner運用恐怖片形式,冷靜凝視21世紀人類處境的焦慮,她援引《Triffids》、《Bodysnatchers》等經典恐怖片,塑造陰險的基因改造作物Little Joe,週遭的人會感到快樂,卻逐漸失去人性。Jessica Hausner曾於2017年榮獲澳門國際影展評審團大獎,她在本片藉由憤世愱俗的風格呈現實驗室場景,以及許多角色逐漸失去人性的過程,在令人戰慄和不安的隱喻手法中,關照你我對「幸福」和安全的追求,也讓《小魔花》在腦海中揮之不去。

– Mike Goodridge

故事大綱

單親媽媽Alice在企業工作多年,致力培育新植物品種,研發出非常特殊的緋紅色花卉,不僅色澤美麗,更具備療效,若維持理想溫度、悉心呵護、不時向植物說話,能令物主感到快樂。然而Alice為慶祝兒子Joe生日,竟悄悄違背公司政策,帶了一株回家照料,母子兩人將它命名為Little Joe,但隨著植物茁壯長大,Alice也逐漸起疑,認為新品種並非如想像般純真無瑕。

導演介紹

Jessica Hausner

Jessica Hausner於1972年生於奧地利維也納,在維也納電影學院主修導演期間,先後拍攝《Flora》及《Inter-View》兩部獲獎短片,首部劇情長片作品《Lovely Rita》在2001年推出,於康城影展一種注目單元首映,三年後也帶著第二部長片作品《Hotel》重返康城。2009年作品《Lourdes》獲選威尼斯影展競賽片,並得到影評人費比西獎。她在2014年推出《Amour Fou》,並三度參加康城影展一種注目單元首映。《小魔花》為生涯第五部劇情長片,也是首部英語作品,於今年五月以康城競賽片舉行全球首映,EmilyBeecham因此獲得最佳女演員獎。

幕後人員

導演 Jessica Hausner

編劇 Jessica Hausner, Geraldine Bajard

監製 Bruno Wagner, Martin Gschlacht, Jessica Hausner, Bertrand Faivre, Gerardine O’Flynn, Philippe Bober

攝影 Martin Gschiacht

美術指導 Katharina Woppermann

剪接 Karina Ressler

配樂

造型設計 Tanja Hausner

演員 Emily Beecham, Ben Whishaw, Kerry Fox, Kit Connor, David Wilmot

製作公司 coop99, The Bureau, Essential Films

發行

國際銷售 Comproduction Office

環球展影全覽

Little Joe - IFFAM - 4th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

Little Joe
Austrlia, UK, Germany | 2019 | 105’ | DCP | Colour | English | Group: B
Director: Jessica Hausner

Showtimes
2019/12/05 19:15 Cinematheque‧Passion

Programmer’s Note

Genre storytelling – as Parasite and Joker have clearly demonstrated this year – is becoming the most effective way to speak about the chaos of our world today. Visionary Austrian director Jessica Hausner uses the form of horror movies to cast her dispassionate gaze at the anxiety of the 21 st century human condition. Drawing from horror standards like Triffids and Bodysnatchers, she presents her characters with an insidious genetically modified plant called Little Joe which brings its owners contentment at the expense of their identity. Hausner, who was on the IFFAM jury in 2017, employs a wonderfully clinical style that suits the story’s laboratory setting and the deadening of personality that many of the characters undergo. A chilly and unsettling metaphor for our insistent craving for “happiness” and security, Little Joe will get under your skin.

Synopsis

Alice, a single mother, is a dedicated senior plant breeder at a corporation engaged in developing new species. She has engineered a very special crimson flower, remarkable not only for its beauty but also for its therapeutic value: if kept at the ideal temperature, fed properly and spoken to regularly, this plant makes its owner happy. Against company policy, Alice takes one home as a gift for her teenage son, Joe. They christen it ‘Little Joe’ but as it grows, so too does Alice’s suspicion that her new creations may not be as harmless as their nickname suggests.

Director

Jessica Hausner

Jessica Hausner was born in Vienna, Austria in 1972. She studied directing at the Film Academy of Vienna where she made the award-winning short films, FLORA (1996) and INTER-VIEW (1999). In 2001, her debut feature film, LOVELY RITA premiered at the Cannes Film Festival in Un Certain Regard. She returned to Un Certain Regard with her second feature, HOTEL in 2004. In 2009, LOURDES was selected in Competition at the Venice Film Festival where it was awarded the FIPRESCI Prize. AMOUR FOU was Hausner’s third film to be presented in Un Certain Regard, where it premiered in 2014. LITTLE JOE is Jessica Hausner’s fifth feature film and her English-language debut.

Cast & Crew

Director Jessica Hausner

Scriptwriter(s) Jessica Hausner, Geraldine Bajard

Producer(s) Philippe Bober

Cinematographer Martin Gschiacht

Production Designer Katharina Woppermann

Editor Karina Ressler

Music

Costumes Designer Tanja Hausner

Cast Emily Beecham, Ben Whishaw, Kerry Fox, Kit Connor, David Wilmot

Production Companies coop99, The Bureau, Essential Films

Distributor

World Sales Comproduction Office

World Panorama