時光鬼跡 - IFFAM - 4th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

時光鬼跡
老撾, 西班牙, 新加坡 | 2019 | 116’ | DCP | 彩色 | 老撾 | 組別: C
導演: Mattie Do

放映時間
2019/12/07 16:15 戀愛‧電影館

策展人筆記

如果一個人被社會遺棄,困在時間扭曲的異世界中,僅有其他被遺忘的鬼魂陪伴,會發生什麼事?在現代性的年代,當進步無可避免、當老一輩被迫讓位給新一代,遺憾將成為阻止人往前邁進的痛苦包袱。《時光鬼跡》中,Mattie Do導演結合鬼魂、被遺忘的殺人案和科幻元素,創造出一部充滿欲望和失落的愛的電影。身為老撾資深舞台劇演員及喜劇笑匠,主演本Yannawoutthi Chanthalungsy為角色注入了威嚴、神秘和悲傷的質地,讓觀眾們投入地跟隨他進入影片之中。《時光鬼跡》於偏遠的東南亞拍攝,角色的表現卻未受到艱困環境的影響而減損,實在非常值得讚賞。

– Lorna Tee

故事大綱

一名老人從他遺世獨立的農場出發,走在塵土飛揚的道路上,前往鄰近的鄉村。陪伴他的是一位沈默的鬼魂,老人在五十年前曾目睹他的死亡。數十年來,老人都對因結核病過世的母親感到遺憾,心理疾病的折磨讓他產生了病態的需求,為了讓自己好過,他開始秘密協助生病的婦女進行安樂死。當他發現身邊的鬼魂伴侶能夠協助他穿越時空,老人立刻計畫回到過去,意圖說服年輕的自己去避免讓母親受到絕症的折磨。然而,他並未意識到自己的行為將對未來產生什麼樣恐怖的影響⋯⋯。

導演介紹

Mattie Do

Mattie Do導演生於加州,是老撾共產主義政治難民的後代。她在洛杉磯長大,十年前在父親退休後回到老撾永珍。2012年,Mattie Do導演了她的首部長片《Chanthaly》,這是自1975年革命後,老撾國產的第九部電影,不僅是第一部由女性擔任主角的電影,也是第一部由女性導演的老撾電影。她的第二部長片《Dearest Sister》(2016) 於美國奇幻影展進行世界首映,並獲選為第一部代表老撾角逐奧斯卡的電影。

幕後人員

導演 Mattie Do

編劇 Christopher Larsen

監製 Annick Mahnert, Mattie Do, Christopher Larsen, Douangmany Soliphanh, Justin Deimen, Abhi Rastogi

攝影 Matthew Whitcomb Macar

美術指導 Thana Maykaoumput, Chatchai Chaiyon

剪接 Zohar Michel

配樂 Anthony Weeden

造型設計 Sadsadachan Duangluangsy

演員 Yannawoutthi Chanthalungsy, Por Silatsa, Noutnapha Soydara, Vilouna Phetmany, Chansamone Inoudom, Vithaya Sombath

製作公司 Lao Art Media, Screen Division, Aurora Media, 108 Media

發行

國際銷售 108 Media

環球展影全覽

The Long Walk - IFFAM - 4th International Film Festival and Awards ‧ Macao

The Long Walk
Laos, Spain, Singapore | 2019| 116’ | DCP | Colour | Lao | Group: C
Director: Mattie Do

Showtimes
2019/12/07 16:15 Cinematheque‧Passion

Programmer’s Note

What happens if you were left behind by society and stuck in a time warp, and your only companions are ghosts of other forgotten people? In our age of modernity, when progress seems inevitable, when the old must give way to the new, regret can be the painful baggage that keeps you from moving on. With The Long Walk, director Mattie Do, playfully meshes living spirits, long forgotten murders and a touch of sci-fi to create a film filled with longing and lost love. Yannawoutthi Chanthalungsy, an experienced stage actor and well-known comedian in Laos, brings dignity, mystery and quiet sorrow to the lead character, whom we faithfully follow throughout the film. There is a lot to admire about a film set in rural South East Asia that does not reduce the characters to being victims of their circumstances and The Long Walk is one such film.

Synopsis

An old man walks the dusty roads between his isolated farm and the nearby rural village in the company of a silent spirit whose death he witnessed fifty years earlier. For decades, the old man’s regret over losing his mother to tuberculosis has bred a pathological need to ease the suffering of the terminally ill, and over the years, he has quietly euthanized several sick women. As he realizes that his spectral companion is able to transport him back in time, the old man trespasses into his own past to set in motion a plan to convince his younger self to preempt his mother’s terminal suffering. But he is unaware of the dire consequences his actions will have on the future…

Director

Mattie Do

Born in California to refugees of Laos’ Communist Revolution, Mattie Do was raised in Los Angeles, but returned to Laos a decade ago after her father retired in Vientiane. In 2012, Do directed her first feature film, Chanthaly – the ninth feature film produced in the country of Laos since the 1975 revolution, the first to feature a female protagonist, and the first Lao feature film to be directed by a woman. Her second feature Dearest Sister (2016) had its world premiere at Fantastic Fest in the US as was later selected as Laos’ first official submission to the 90th Academy Awards.

Cast & Crew

Director Mattie Do

Scriptwriter(s) Christopher Larsen

Producer(s) Annick Mahnert, Mattie Do, Christopher Larsen, Douangmany Soliphanh, Justin Deimen, Abhi Rastogi

Cinematographer Matthew Whitcomb Macar

Production Designer Thana Maykaoumput, Chatchai Chaiyon

Editor Zohar Michel

Music Anthony Weeden

Costumes Designer Sadsadachan Duangluangsy

Cast Yannawoutthi Chanthalungsy, Por Silatsa, Noutnapha Soydara, Vilouna Phetmany, Chansamone Inoudom, Vithaya Sombath

Production Companies Lao Art Media, Screen Division, Aurora Media, 108 Media

Distributor

World Sales 108 Media

World Panorama